ZNU goes Zero

ZNU goes Zero

ZNU Statement on the STERN Article from April 29, 2021

 

Dear Sir or Madam,

with great regret we have taken note of the STERN article (29th of April, 2021) about Plant-for-the-Planet, https://www.stern.de/-plant-for-the-planet---spendengelder-versenkt--zweifel-an-stiftung-wachsen-30501150.html.

In a decided form it is presented that the Plant-for-the-Planet approach could be a dubious approach in summary. The article ends with: "Until today, they (the PWC assessors) have not yet started their work."

The STERN article and in particular this last sentence aims at the transparency offensive demanded for months by the ZNU, which must be carried out by Plant-for-the-Planet and is due to the ZEIT article (16.12.2020) now pressing more than ever. The contents of these transparency activities are not least the preparation of a certificate for the verification of the use of funds and planting protocols by an independent auditor (PwC) as well as the establishment of corresponding scientific committees for the verification of statements, e.g. on the CO2 sequestration capacity of trees or realistic growth rates of planted trees. So far, Plant-for-the-Planet has not extensively complied with the ZNU demands despite multiple follow-ups.

We at the ZNU have decided to suspend our relationship with Plant-for-the-Planet with immediate effect until the report of the auditing company (PwC) is made available to us. However, we explicitly reserve the right to terminate the relationship completely. We have also recommended this procedure to the ZNU partner companies involved.

In principle, we stand for sound and credible climate protection with our 5-step ZNU goes Zero approach - as we always focus on "avoid and reduce" including green electricity and emphasize that only unavoidable CO2 emissions are to be compensated in a double procedure.

 

Why do we need ZNU goes Zero?

Climate change is accelerating. According to current scientific knowledge, humans are the leading cause for climate warming since the mid-20th century. The years between 2014 and 2019 were on average the hottest since the beginning of the industrialisation (Source: Statista, 2020). This development is caused by the rising CO2 concentrations in the atmosphere which have reached the highest levels ever recorded in human history. The projected climate impacts have serious ecological, social and economic consequences.

More: Climate diagram and consequences for business

Aim of the initiative

For this reason, the ZNU – Center for Sustainable Leadership of the University of Witten/Herdecke (Faculty of Economics, Management and Society) and its partners are taking joint responsibility, demonstrating their sustainable leadership role and setting an example for other economic actors:

The ZNU would like to identify possible approaches for ZNU partners to act responsibly with regard to climate protection. During this process, the ZNU wants to work participatory and cooperatively together with partners who are genuinely committed to the goal of climate protection. By participating in ZNU goes Zero, companies simultaneously fulfil the requirements of the Allianz für Klima und Entwicklung initiative (BMZ). The ZNU has been a member of this initiative since 2019 and recommends that participants register there as well (https://allianz-entwicklung-klima.de).

The ZNU is aware of the importance of considering the entire value chain, therefore Phase I (until the end of 2022) focuses on Scope 1 and 2, and will then be incrementally expanded to include Scope 3 criteria.

More information: Commitment of the ZNU partners

How is this goal achieved and certified?


Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5


Who is the ZNU – Center for Sustainable Leadership?

The application-oriented research institute in the Faculty of Economics and Society at the University Witten/Herdecke was founded in 2008 by Dr. Axel Kölle and Dr. Christian Geßner. The ZNU currently employs 15 people.

Our mission is to make sustainability tangible and to inspire people for the opportunities of sustainable business management. The focus lies on research and education, training of managers and the organisation of working groups and conferences.

The ZNU has developed and established the ZNU-Standard Driving Sustainable Change, which helps companies to become more sustainable step by step. The Standard is the only field-tested and externally certifiable standard for sustainable management that integrates all three dimensions of environment, economy and social as well as requires and promotes the development of an integrated sustainable management system.

More information: ZNU Standard – Driving Sustainable Change

ZNU goes Zero

ZNU goes Zero

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

mit großem Bedauern haben wir den STERN-Artikel (29.04.2021) über Plant-for-the-Planet zur Kenntnis genommen, 
https://www.stern.de/-plant-for-the-planet---spendengelder-versenkt--zweifel-an-stiftung-wachsen-30501150.html

In dezidierter Form wird dargestellt, dass es sich beim Plant-for-the-Planet-Ansatz zusammengefasst um einen zweifelhaften Ansatz handeln könnte. Der Artikel endet mit: „Bis heute haben sie (die PWC-Gutachter) ihre Arbeit noch nicht aufgenommen.“

Der Stern-Artikel und insbesondere dieser letzte Satz zielen dabei auf die seit Monaten seitens ZNU geforderte Transparenzoffensive ab, welche durch Plant-for-the-Planet geleistet werden muss und nicht zuletzt aufgrund des Zeit-Artikels (16.12.2020) nötiger denn je erforderlich ist. Inhalte dieser Transparenzaktivitäten sind nicht zuletzt die Erstellung eines Testates zur Überprüfung von Mittelverwendungen und Pflanzprotokollen seitens eines unabhängigen Wirtschaftsprüfers (PWC) sowie auch die Einrichtung entsprechender, wissenschaftlicher Gremien zur Überprüfung von Aussagen z.B. zur CO2-Bindungsfähigkeit von Bäumen oder realistischer Anwachsraten von gepflanzten Bäumen. Bisher ist Plant-for-the-Planet den ZNU-Forderungen trotz vielfachen Nachfassens nicht umfänglich nachgekommen.

Wir haben uns seitens ZNU dazu entschieden, die Beziehung zu Plant-for-the-Planet ab sofort solange ruhen zu lassen, bis uns das Gutachten der Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (PWC) zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Wir behalten uns allerdings explizit vor, die Beziehung komplett zu beenden.

Diese Vorgehensweise haben wir auch den beteiligten ZNU-Partnerunternehmen empfohlen.

Grundsätzlich stehen wir mit unserem 5-schrittigen ZNU goes Zero-Ansatz für fundierten und glaubwürdigen Klimaschutz – da wir stets den Fokus auf das „Vermeiden und Vermindern“ inkl. Ökostrom legen und betonen, dass nur unvermeidbare CO2-Emissionen in einem doppelten Verfahren zu kompensieren sind.

Warum ZNU goes Zero?

Der Klimawandel schreitet kontinuierlich voran. Nach derzeitigen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen ist die Erderwärmung seit Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts zum größten Teil durch den Menschen verursacht. Die Jahre 2014 bis 2019 waren die wärmsten seit Beginn der Industrialisierung (Quelle: Statista, 2020). Diese Entwicklung ist bedingt durch den Anstieg der CO2-Konzentration in der Erdatmosphäre auf vorher nie da gewesenem Niveau. Die prognostizierten Klimafolgen haben ökologische sowie soziale und ökonomische Auswirkungen.

Mehr: Klimadiagramm und Folgen für Unternehmen

Ziel der Initiative

Daher übernimmt das ZNU – Zentrum für Nachhaltige Unternehmensführung der Universität Witten/Herdecke (Fakultät für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft) mit seinen Partnern gemeinschaftlich Verantwortung, beweist seine Vorreiterrolle und setzt ein Zeichen für weitere Wirtschaftsakteure:

Das ZNU möchte für die ZNU-Partner Lösungswege aufzeigen, um verantwortungsvoll in Sachen Klimaschutz zu handeln. Das ZNU möchte dabei partizipativ und kooperativ mit Partnern zusammenarbeiten, die sich dem Thema Klimaschutz ernsthaft und glaubwürdig widmen. Mit der Teilnahme an ZNU goes Zero erfüllen Unternehmen automatisch auch die Anforderungen der Initiative Allianz für Klima und Entwicklung (BMZ). Das ZNU ist seit 2019 Mitglied dieser Initiative und empfiehlt den Teilnehmern von ZNU goes Zero sich dort zusätzlich registrieren zu lassen (https://allianz-entwicklung-klima.de). 

Das ZNU ist sich der Bedeutung der Wertschöpfungskettenbetrachtung bewusst, von daher bezieht sich die Phase I (bis Ende 2022) auf die Scopes 1 und 2 und wird dann schrittweise um Scope 3 Kriterien ergänzt werden.

Weitere Stimmen teilnehmender Unternehmen

Weitere teilnehmende Unternehmen berichten über ihre Erfahrungen & Engagement innerhalb der ZNU goes Zero Initiative.

Mehr Info: Verpflichtung der Partner

Wie wird dieses Ziel erreicht und überprüft?


Schritt 1

Schritt 2

Schritt 3

Schritt 4

Schritt 5


Wer ist das ZNU – Zentrum für Nachhaltige Unternehmensführung?

Das anwendungsorientierte Forschungsinstitut in der Fakultät für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft der Universität Witten/Herdecke wurde 2008 von Dr. Axel Kölle und Dr. Christian Geßner gegründet. Das ZNU beschäftigt derzeit 15 Mitarbeitende.

Die Mission des ZNU ist es, Nachhaltigkeit greifbar zu machen und Menschen für die Chancen Nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens zu begeistern. Die Schwerpunkte liegen in Forschung und Lehre, in der Weiterbildung von Führungskräften und in der Durchführung von Arbeitskreisen und Konferenzen.

Das ZNU hat den ZNU-Standard Nachhaltiger Wirtschaften entwickelt und etabliert, der Unternehmen dazu dient, Schritt für Schritt nachhaltiger zu werden. Der Standard Nachhaltiger Wirtschaften ist der einzige praxiserprobte und extern zertifizierbare Standard für nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, der alle drei Dimensionen Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Soziales integriert und die Entwicklung eines integrierten Managementsystems zum nachhaltigeren Wirtschaften fordert und fördert.

Mehr Info: ZNU-Standard Nachhaltiger Wirtschaften